Speech and debate: Narra, Zhang, Garcia grab top spots

The U-High Speech and Debate teams competed in three tournaments this past November 20 both online and in-person. Tournament Champions included Yajath Narra and Daniel Zhang in Novice Public Forum. The Debate team also competed in their second Congressional Debate tournament of the season this past Thursday. Congratulations to tournament champion, Angel Garcia! Full results follow:

Congressional Debate

1st: Angel Garcia

2nd: Pierce McDade

3rd: Ian Kelly

4th: Mae Petersen

6th: Siri Nallamothu

Junior Varsity Humorous Duet Acting

3rd: Ava Frazier & Eesha Yadav

Varsity Humorous Interpretation

4th: Ian Kelly

Junior Varsity Informative Speaking

2nd: Eesha Yadav

Varsity Informative Speaking

7th: Angel Garcia

Junior Varsity Original Oratory

5th: Michael Xi

Varsity Original oratory

3rd: Shreya Nallamothu

5th: Arisa Mahatanankoon

Varsity Prose Reading

6th: Grace Yoder

Junior Varsity Special Occasion Speaking

4th: Zoe Przybylski

5th: Addy Thome

Novice Public Forum Debate

1st: Yajath Narra & Daniel Zhang

2nd: Sachit Muduli & Mitchell Hayes

2nd Speaker: Daniel Zhang

4th Speaker: Sachit Muduli

Open Public Forum Debate

3rd: Gabe Floyd & Henry Shang

4th: Harris Dorgan & Joseph Shim

2nd Speaker: Harris Dorgan

3rd Speaker: Gabe Floyd

Open Lincoln-Douglas Debate

2nd: Henry DeVivo

3rd Speaker: Henry DeVivo

Written by